Events - Friday, 31 March 2017

Folly Theater
Kansas City, Missouri
Friday, 31 March 2017 - 7:30 PM
Use the Tickets button above to select your seats.

{ Single-Ticket Prices: $30 $35 $55 $65 $75 $85 }

Called “the undisputed queen of violin-playing” by The Times (London), Anne-Sophie Mutter reigns as one of the world’s most acclaimed violin virtuosos. This recital will mark her third Harriman-Jewell Series appearance, and her second Series recital with longtime collaborative pianist Lambert Orkis, performing Currier's Clockwork, Mozart's Sonata for Violin and Piano in A Major, Respighi's Sonata for Violin and Piano in B Minor, and Saint-Saëns' Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso.

Born in Rheinfelden in Baden, Germany, Anne-Sophie Mutter is a musical phenomenon and a virtuoso fixture on the international stages of the world’s major concert halls, and continues to make her mark on the classical music scene as a soloist, mentor and visionary. This season marks the 40-year anniversary of her debut as a 13-year-old soloist at the Salzburg Whitsun Concerts under Herbert von Karajan’s baton.

The four-time Grammy-Award winner is fully committed both to the performance of traditional composers and to the future of music. To date, she has given world premieres of 24 works. She also uses her popularity for charity projects and supports the development of exceptionally talented young musicians. Mutter's last appearance for the Harriman-Jewell Series was to lead The Mutter Virtuosi, a string orchestra composed of young foundation scholars and professional string players who are alumni of the Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation.

American pianist Lambert Orkis has received international recognition as chamber musician, interpreter of contemporary music, and performer on period instruments. He has appeared worldwide with violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter since 1988 and performed in recital with cellist Mstislav Rostropovich for more than 11 years.

Presenter: Harriman-Jewell Series
Currier: Clockwork
Artists: Lambert Orkis (Piano); Anne-Sophie Mutter (Violin)
Mozart: Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major, K 526
Artists: Lambert Orkis (Piano); Anne-Sophie Mutter (Violin)
Respighi: Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor
Artists: Lambert Orkis (Piano); Anne-Sophie Mutter (Violin)
Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso
Artists: Lambert Orkis (Piano); Anne-Sophie Mutter (Violin)
1 - 1 of 1

Give to the Series

Harriman-Jewell Series

Download Our Mobile App

Media Partner

Untitled Document